top of page
  • Phyllis Kaplan/Dinobetic

Tips For Finding The Right Diabetes Camp For Your Child (Guest Post on Medtronic Loop Blog)


I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of two. The first camp I attended was a traditional day camp. As an 11-year-old kid with diabetes, traditional camp was not for me. I didn’t like the fact that they made a big deal out of everything related to diabetes. I wasn’t just a kid with diabetes going to camp. They didn’t understand it, and as such singled me out and made me feel different from everyone else. Yeah, I have diabetes, but I was also a kid who wanted to go swimming and do arts and crafts.

After that experience I asked my parents to try overnight camp, and we were lucky to find

– an overnight camp in New Jersey for kids with T1D. (read more)


2 views0 comments
bottom of page